Thousands of Grouper!!

Hello Friends!

It was awesome to video chat with all my students back in Seattle today!  You guys are wonderful!  And I am really looking forward to having video chats with everyone on Grand and the Brac tomorrow!  Exciting! For today’s blog I am posting a couple of video clips that were shot by Verity Redrup, marine sciences teacher at Cayman Prep High School.  The first video shows a slow pan of just one section of the fish preparing to spawn here on Little Cayman.  Take a look!

Mobbed by Grouper

Thousands of Grouper!

Grouper Tagging!

6 thoughts on “Thousands of Grouper!!

  1. In the vidio Mobbed by Grouper, why aren’t there meny grouper swimming around that aren’t by the diver? Who is the diver? We miss you, Todd!

    • Good observation, Rachel! That scientist is actually setting up a video camera on the reef, below the fish. So they are there. They’re just above him. They are VERY interested in what he is doing. I think they were hoping he would feed them. And, I MISS YOU TOO! Less then a week until I’m back!

  2. In the tagging grouper video how many fish do you usually tag? Also, in the mobbed by grouper video how deep was the diver? I HOPE THAT I SEE YOU SOON!

    • Hi Rosie!

      The scientists will tag 100 grouper this year. The diver in the Mobbed By Grouper video is at about 90 feet deep.

      And I will see you all on Monday!!! I miss you guys very much!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *